Sharing is caring (vol 2)

Sharing is caring, so here are some more links I’ve read and loved recently.

Notes from the Margins: What We Talk About When We Talk About Abuse in the Church
I am aware of the awful truth that abuse exists and is widespread. But it terrified me to realise “the other side of this truth: you almost certainly know an abuser”. May God give me strength and wisdom as I stand up to this evil whenever and wherever I can.

Trusting More, Expecting Less
I’m a new subscriber to SheLoves Magazine posts. I saw my own experiences reflected in this post, from when we were visiting new churches. “I hate my neediness, my encroaching sense of desperation.” Yes.

In which God does not want to use me
Brilliant, Sarah. This ties into realising a few weeks ago that God isn’t looking for maximum performance and efficiency in my life. Yes, his kingdom is coming, and yes, he wants me to be a part of it, but primarily he just wants to love me – not use me.

What Are Your “Broken Windows”? Here’s a List of Mine.
I am loving Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project – so many pearls of wisdom there. This post helped me see one of my own broken windows: using the computer before breakfast. I am much less able to steer my day in a good direction when I’ve done that.

No Way to Treat a Baby
A controversial title, sure, and I hope it won’t create more shaming for mothers. (I am really not into a culture of shame!) But honestly, I find the RIE approach that Janet Lansbury describes so helpful for my work with parents and families. It treats infants and children as whole people, worthy of respect, not manipulation. I’m super excited about the possibility of trying it with my own little ones one day!

More Grace: On Not Being Mean, Hateful, and Horrible
Jen Hatmaker is spot on: “I realize every problem has the same answer: More grace.” I found myself saying to Tanya this week that “there is nothing that I have found to be better in life than giving grace to others”. Right now, I still can’t think of anything better.

Quality Not Quantity
I enjoyed reading Brenda’s realisation that “I seem to be destined for a smaller, slower life of quality.” I think that’s because I see myself in it. Slow and careful, thorough preparation, trying to make the right choice and follow through well (with a leaning towards perfectionism). Maybe that’s why I find it so frustrating to use a lot of trial and error in the things I don’t naturally do well.

this online thing [or why i am still here, with you].
Oh, gosh. I had wondered the same thing as I was starting up this little blog. Really? Do I really want to be a part of the mess of the internet, where strong opinions and debates and arguments are rife and there may not be a whole lotta love to balance it? But there is something beautiful and God-honouring in what I’ve seen happen online. And maybe, in a small way, I can be a part of it.

What have you read and loved recently?

3 thoughts on “Sharing is caring (vol 2)

  1. I am honored to be linked along with bloggers I totally fangirl over. Thanks!! :)

    Have you read Happier At Home yet? I haven’t gotten a hold of it yet, but I know I’m going to love it.

    • You’re very welcome. :) Glad it gave you a buzz!

      I haven’t gotten as far as Gretchen’s books yet, but it does look good – and I’m sensing you and I have similar tastes, so I probably will like it.

Leave a Reply

